Double Success for Sgil Cymru in Apprenticeship Awards Shortlist

Gwobrau Prentisiaethau

Sgil Cymru is proud to announce that both Matt Redd and Owain Carbis have been shortlisted for the Apprenticeship Awards Cymru 2021.  Matt Redd is an assessor with Sgil Cymru and is a finalist in the Work-based Learning Assessor of the Year category, while Owain is an apprentice with BBC Cymru Wales and is a finalist for Apprentice of the Year.  The awards are open to every sector working within apprenticeships across Wales, and are jointly organised by the Welsh Government and the National Training Federation for Wales (NTfW).

Matt Redd has been working with Sgil Cymru on a freelance basis since the company’s formation, working across a number of training schemes whilst also working in television and film as a writer and producer.  He has twenty years’ experience in the creative industries in a variety of roles, with credits including DOCTOR WHO, CASUALTY, and the forthcoming feature film THE TOLL, which premieres on February 26th at the Glasgow Film Festival.  Matt wrote the screenplay and is also credited as an associate producer on the film.

19-year-old Owain Carbis recently completed a level 3 apprenticeship with Sgil Cymru while working at BBC Cymru Wales in the Digital & Marketing department, and has since been employed by the BBC to work in their digital drama team.  His work has been seen globally on the BBC’s social media accounts, and he has also created digital content through his work as one of the first five Welsh-medium Apprenticeship Ambassadors to have ever been appointed.  Owain is an alumnus of IntoFilm where he organised Q&As with stars including Rhys Ifans and Iwan Rheon. 

This exciting news comes during the week where Sgil Cymru has recruited ten new apprentices for CRIW, the ground-breaking new scheme which will see apprentices work on a number of different productions throughout a year in the industry, emulating the freelance experience with the support of Sgil Cymru’s team.  

Sgil Cymru wishes pob lwc to Matt and Owain in the award ceremony, which will take place on April 29th.